They Like it Wild

Studio Choo has a very distinct style. They use a lot of wild flowers and their arrangements often have a “garden-y” look to them. That’s a technical term by the way. Gardeny. It means garden like. The term “garden-ish” is also acceptable. There’s no need to look it up, you can trust me.

In her own words Alethea said she often tells people, “Think of it like a little garden, with parings of one flower here and another group of flowers over there.” This a perfect example of some of Studio Choo’s arrangements. I don’t know anyone that wouldn’t want to have that delivered to them. And I could spend hours browsing through their photos on flickr. You should too. You should also check out the weekly column they wrote for Design*Sponge appropriately named, “We Like it Wild.” You should just be following Design*Sponge in general.

Classic Studio Choo Arrangements

Classic “wild” Choo arrangements

Today Alethea had me try my hand at an arrangement “Choo” style. It is not as effortless as it looks. To say that I struggled would be an understatement. The good thing is that have the entire summer to learn and perfect this style. On top of that Jill and Alethea are incredibly generous with their knowledge. They both seem genuinely interested in helping me grow (pun intended) and mature as a floral designer. This is something I rarely felt from my professors while in school.

The first arrangement needed quite a bit of help but then I was put in charge of one for a yoga studio down the street from the shop on Divisadero. In my opinion it was good enough but I too am looking forward to more practice under the guidance of Alethea and Jill.

Wild Yoga Arrangement

My “wild” arrangement for the yoga studio down the street.

Leave a Reply

